html{display:none} Inglis | Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories

Chris Inglis

Deputy Director, National Security Agency (2006–2014)

Mr. Inglis currently serves as the U.S. Naval Academy’s Robert and Mary M. Looker Distinguished Chair for Cyber Studies. He retired from the Department of Defense in January 2014 following over 41 years of federal service, including 28 years at the NSA and seven and a half years as its senior civilian and Deputy Director. As the NSA Deputy Director, Mr. Inglis acted as the Agency’s chief operating officer, responsible for guiding and directing strategies, operations and policy. His NSA service included three years as the United States Special Liaison to the United Kingdom, numerous operational tours leading Signals Intelligence organizations, and a one year posting as a visiting professor of computer science at the United States Military Academy (West Point).  

Since early 2014, Mr. Inglis has served as a keynote speaker or panelist on national security affairs in more than 100 events at universities, private sector events, and government policy venues. He currently serves on several Defense Science Board panels, chairs the US Strategic Command Intelligence panel, and is a member of the Director of National Intelligence’s Strategic Advisory Group. 

Mr. Inglis’ military career includes over 30 years of service in the U.S. Air Force — nine years on active duty and twenty one years in the Air National Guard — from which he retired as a Brigadier General in 2006. He holds the rating of Command Pilot and commanded units at the squadron, group, and joint force headquarters levels.

Mr. Inglis holds advanced degrees in engineering and computer science from Columbia University, Johns Hopkins University, and the George Washington University. He is also a graduate of the Kellogg Business School executive development program, the USAF Air War College, Air Command and Staff College, and Squadron Officers’ School. 

Mr. Inglis’ significant Awards include the Clements award as the US Naval Academy’s Outstanding Military Faculty member (1984), three Presidential Rank Awards (2000, 2004, 2009), the USAF Distinguished Service Medal (2006), the Boy Scouts of America Distinguished Eagle Scout Award (2009), the Director of National Intelligence Distinguished Service Medal (2014), and The President’s National Security Medal (2014).